Skip to main content

MASLD Research Center Collaborators

The MASLD Research Center brings together multiple specialties and specialists at UC San Diego School of Medicine and elsewhere:

Claude Sirlin, MD Professor of Radiology and Director of Liver Imaging Group, Department of Radiology, UC San Diego
Xinlian Zhang, PhD Assistant Professor in Biostatistics and Bioinformatics, UC San Diego
Ronald Evans, PhD Professor and Head of the Gene Expression Laboratory, and the March of Dimes Chair in Molecular and Developmental Biology, Salk Institute for Biological Studies
Christopher Glass, MD, PhD Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine and Professor of Medicine, UC San Diego School of Medicine

Joseph L Witztum, MD

Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology, UC San Diego
Marc Hellerstein, MD, PhD Professor, Department of Nutritional Sciences & Toxicology, UC Berkeley
Tatiana Kisseleva, MD, PhD Associate Professor, Department of Surgery, UC, San Diego (Provides expertise on pre-clinical studies in MASH and MASH-related fibrosis).
David Brenner, MD Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences, Dean of the School of Medicine and Professor of Medicine in the Division of Gastroenterology, UC San Diego
Catriona Jamieson, MD, PhD Professor of Medicine, Deputy Director, UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center
Sheldon Morris, MD, MPH Associate Professor of Family Medicine and Public Health, UC San Diego
Sonia Jain, PhD Professor in the Department of Family Medicine and Public Health, Division of Biostatistics & Bioinformatics, UC San Diego
Jeremiah D Momper, PharmD, PhD Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, UC San Diego
Naga Chalasani, MD David W. Crabb Professor of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Indiana University
Mark S Sulkowski, MD Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Trials, Professor of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University
William O'Brien Donald Biggar Willett Professor Emeritus in Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Jeffrey Schwimmer, MD Professor of Pediatrics at UC San Diego School of Medicine and the Director of the Fatty Liver Clinic at Rady Children's Hospital San Diego
Cynthia Behling, MD, PhD Associate Physician, Department of Pediatrics, UC San Diego
Bernd Schnabl, MD Professor of Medicine in Gastroenterology, UC San Diego and the Director of the San Diego Digestive Diseases Research Center
Lars Eckmann, MD Professor of Medicine in Gastroenterology, UC San Diego and the Co-Director of the San Diego Digestive Diseases Research Center
Rob Knight, PhD Director of the Center for Microbiome Innovation and Professor of Pediatrics, Bioengineering, and Computer Science & Engineering, UC San Diego
Jagpreet Chhatwal, PhD Director of the MGH Institute for Technology Assessment and an associate professor at Harvard Medical School
Xin Tu, PhD Professor, Herbert Wertheim School of Public Health & Human Longevity Science, UC San Diego
Jack Gilbert, PhD Professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UC San Diego
Richard Ehman, MD Professor of Radiology in the Center for Advanced Imaging Research, Mayo Clinic
Emelia Benjamin, MD Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology, Boston University
Michael Karin, PhD Distinguished Professor of Pharmacology and Ben and Wanda Hildyard Chair for Mitochondrial and Metabolic Diseases, UC San Diego
Karen Nelson, PhD President, J. Craig Venter Institute
Ariel Feldstein, MD Chief of Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition in the Department of Pediatrics and at Rady Children's Hospital-San Diego
Edward Dennis, PhD Distinguished Professor of Pharmacology and Chemistry and Biochemistry, director of LIPID MAPS Consortium
Larry Smarr, PhD Founding Director of California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology and Harry E. Gruber Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at UC San Diego Jacobs School of Engineering
Nicholas Schork, PhD Professor of Human Biology, J. Craig Venter Institute, UC San Diego
Siddharth Singh, MD Assistant Professor, Division of Gastroenterology, UC San Diego
Shankar Subramaniam, PhD Associate Director, Institute of Engineering In Medicine and Professor, Bioengineering, UC San Diego
Mark Valasek, MD, PhD Associate Professor of Pathology, UC San Diego